Making a Website With PHP


I’ve been working on a pet project of mine, creating a website using php and eventually turn it into a blog and I’m getting a hang of it. Not that I can fancy myself a programmer (not anymore), this certainly is an interesting experience (Still on going because I’m long way from the finish line).

I’m starting to think that I need to re-educate myself on php, html and other web development languages. I can do basic stuff and creating a website that doesn’t require access to database or credit card processing. But that’s not where I want to limit myself and I certainly need to find the right books to get to the next level.

I don’t want to spend the money to buy the necessary programming books. I can’t say that everyone should believe what I believe (it’s certainly my own opinion) but I don’t think people should pay to get educated in computer languages. Anyway, that’s not the subject I’m talking about today. Most likely, I’ll just download all my reading material from the web. There is plenty of information out there made available by others who believe in open source and that’s more than enough for people who don’t plan on doing it professionally.

Last night I downloaded a C++ pdf and I’ve stared reading up on basic programming with C++ and it’s bringing back memories from my university days. Back then it all made barely any sense and it always was fun to figure out how to do things when the teachers wouldn’t care to teach. It certainly has been a long time, considering the fact that I was 19 years old when I started. And when I finally finished, I knew quite a bit.

I still believe that with the right mind set and right amount of education and proper understanding of ‘the code’, I’ll be able to quench my thirst. I just need time and persistence.

Don’t ask my why I don’t just go to a university for a refresher course, or pay some programmer to make the site for me, Or just use WordPress to Blog or do whatever it is that I want to do. That’s not the reason why I’m doing this. I’m doing it because I enjoy making a website from scratch. It keeps me busy and it’s educational and fun for me. I’m not trying to make the next Facebook or twitter. Just something for myself.

At the moment, I don’t know how long it will take for me to get to the point where I can consider myself a web developer. It’s not the title I want, it’s the process of learning.

