Old friends, A new friendship


Ever since I departed from Rogers, I haven’t had a chance to keep in touch with a very close friend. And that has been one of the things that always bugged me the most.

Due to some problems in the family, mostly related to my father’s health, I couldn’t devote my time to my work at Rogers, which demanded a lot more from me than I could give at that time and that took it’s toll on my friendship with my Manager and best friend, Jag Blaggan. It wasn’t his fault that I had to leave or that it was causing a few problems for him at work, he couldn’t have known what was really going on in my life, even if I tried explaining. And then, finally, the time came, when I no longer could deviate my focus from home and devote any of my time at Rogers and made an almost impossible decision to leave (Which I did). And thanks to a miscommunication between Jag and I, we broke off all communications.

Yesterday was the first day, after a very long period of time, that we met at a friend’s place and, apart from the surprise that I have lost a great deal of weight, Jag was somewhat pleased to see me. I felt the same.

Dr. Jas, a close friend to both Jag and I, thought it would be the best time for us to talk and clear the air, and finally compare all our perspectives of what had happened when I left. Needless to say, both sides had complains, regrets and grievances, but for the sake of being civil, we both heard each other’s side of the story. We talked for about 2 hours on the subject of our long dead and buried past and reviewed some of the unpleasantness that we had experienced during that time of confusion. I will not go into details as to what we talked in the past and what we said to each other that resulted in months of silence from both sides, but at the end of that day, we both realized that it was in fact just a miscommunication and misconception of what we thought the other had said and was no longer even relevant to our lives. No one was actually trying to hurt the other.

Even thou the past has been dead and burried, I must say that I’m still a bit nervous starting over our friendship. Not because I feel guilty of my past, but because I fear that yesterday’s conversation might not be enough to completely forget about the past.

I can only hope that the way I have had a chance to review my own perspective and admit I was wrong, Jag has done the same. He was like a big brother to me and I still consider him family.

He has asked me to drop by at his house on sunday (he bought a new place while I was away). Tomorrow, I will call him and, hopefully, seize the opportunity to renew our friendship.

What tomorrow will bring is somewhat unknown to me and I’m not 100% of what will happen from now on. But I do hope for a good restart toward a lasting friendship. We’ve known each other for a very long time. I lost a friend before and I do not wish to lose the same friend again. That’s all I can really hope for.

